The Chinese New Year starts on the Aquarius New Moon from 2009 to 2044

These dates are calculated from Universal Time so may actually happen the day before or after depending on your Time Zone.

The Chinese New Year is determined by the Aquarius New Moon as it occurs in China. Each year features one of 12 Animals and one of the Five Chinese Elements. The original transmission for the Chinese New Year was based on Jupiter (known as the year star) because this planet takes about one year to move through one constellation or as looked at in current times sign of the Zodiac. Signs and Constellations are NOT the same. See article

Year	Date	Animal	Element
2009	January 26	Ox	Earth
2010	February 14	Tiger	Metal
2011	February 03	Rabbit	Metal
2012	January 23	Dragon	Water
2013	February 10	Snake	Water
2014	January 31	Horse	Wood
2015	February 19	Sheep	Wood
2016	February 08	Monkey	Fire
2017	January 28	Rooster	Fire
2018	February 16	Dog	Earth
2019	February 05	Pig/Boar	Earth
2020	January 25	Rat	Metal
2021	February 12	Ox	Metal
2022	February 01	Tiger	Water
2023	January 22	Rabbit	Water
2024	February 10	Dragon	Wood
2025	January 29	Snake	Wood
2026	February 17	Horse	Fire
2027	February 06	Ram	Fire
2028	January 26	Monkey	Earth
2029	February 13	Rooster	Earth
2030	February 03	Dog	Metal
2031	January 23	Pig/Boar	Metal
2032	February 11	Rat	Water
2033	January 31	Ox	Water
2034	February 19	Tiger	Wood
2035	February 08	Rabbit	Wood
2036	January 28	Dragon	Fire
2037	February 15	Snake	Fire
2038	February 04	Horse	Earth
2039	January 24	Ram	Earth
2040	February 12	Monkey	Metal
2041	February 01	Rooster	Metal
2042	January 22	Dog	Water
2043	February 10	Pig/Boar	Water
2044	January 30	Rat	Wood